The Faber-Castell logo:
How the jousting knights came about

The Faber-Castell brand logo is known and recognized all over the world: two jousting knights in
dark green.  But where did this emblem come from?  To discover the background, it is necessary to delve into the history of this famous pencil manufacturer that goes back nearly 250 years.
파버카스텔 브랜드 로고는 전세계 dark green안에 두 마창을 겨루는 기사로 알려지고 인식되어 있습니다. 하지만 이 엠블럼은 어디서 온 걸까요? 그 배경을 밝히기 위해 거의 250년 역사로 잘 알려진 펜슬 제조업체의 역사에 대해 깊이 알아보도록 하죠.

Until 1898, the company was owned by the Faber family and was known as A.W. Faber.  Then Ottilie von Faber, the heir to the business, married Count Alexander zu Castell-Rüdenhausen, a member of one of the oldest lines of German nobility.  But her grandfather Lothar von Faber had stipulated in his will that the name Faber should remain in the company for all time.  And so, with the authorization of the King of Bavaria, they changed their surname to Faber-Castell – a name which was also applied to the company and thus the brand.
1898년까지 이 회사는 AW파버로 알려진 파버 일가족들이 운영했습니다. 그 때 이 사업의 상속인인 Ottilie von Faber는 독일 귀족의 가장 오래된 혈통 중에 하나인Count Alexander zu Castell-Rüdenhausen와 결혼 했습니다. 하지만 그녀의 할아버지인 Lothar von Faber 는 Faber.란 이름을 계속해서 회사에 남겨야 한다고 요구했습니다. 하여 Bavaria왕의 허가와 함께 그들은 그들의 이름을 Faber-Castell – (그 회사에 적용하고 그리하여 브랜드가 된)로 바꾸었습니다.

In 1905, shortly after taking over as managing director, Count Alexander brought out a new range of top-quality pencils, which he called Castell. To distinguish them from his competitors, Count Alexander chose his regimental colour for the paint coating: green. Over the years, the Castell pencils became a classic. Count Alexander also commissioned a painting of two “knights of the pencil”, an advertising motif that decorated the boxes and cases for decades, in several different variants.  Later it was considered rather old-fashioned and was dropped.  But in the early 1990s, when the present Count was creating a new corporate image for the company, the knights were reinstated as a symbol of the Faber-Castell brand.  In stylized form, they are now an essential part of the company logo.
1905년, 경영자로서 회사를 넘겨받은 직후, Count Alexander는 그가 Castell이라 부르는 새로운 종류의 최상급의 연필들을 가져 왔습니다. 그것들을 그의 경쟁업체들로부터 차별화하기 위해 Count Alexander는 그의 군복 색깔인 green으로 코팅하기로 합니다. 몇 년이 지나고 Castell 연필은 명품이 되었습니다. 또한Count Alexander 는 몇몇 다른 변화를 거쳐 지난 수십 년 동안 박스와 케이스에 장식된 광고 모티브인 두 기사의 그림을 연필에 그려 넣는 것을 의뢰했습니다. 그 후 다소 구식이라 여겨져 사라지게 됐습니다. 하지만 1990년대 초 Count가 회사의 새로운 이미지를 만들고 있을 때, 그 기사들은 Faber-Castell의 브랜드의 상징으로서 다시 돌아오게 됐습니다. 관례를 일치함에 있어서 그것들은 지금 회사 로고의 필수적인 부분 입니다.